18 C
United States of America
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Kumar Dharmasena, Nitin Menon to function on-field umpires throughout CWC opener between England, New Zealand Categorical Occasions

Must read

The Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed on September 25 that Kumar Dharmasena and Nitin Menon will function on-field umpires for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 opener between England and New Zealand, which is able to happen on October 5 this yr in Ahmedabad. “Kumar Dharmasena and Nitin Menon would be the on-field umpires for the opening match of the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup 2023 between England and New Zealand,” mentioned a press release from ICC. 

The group stage conflict, a repeat of the unforgettable remaining 4 years in the past, will see Dharmasena and Menon joined by TV umpire Paul Wilson, fourth umpire Shahid Saikat and match referee Javagal Srinath. Dharmasena made historical past in 2015 as the primary individual to each play and umpire in an ICC Males’s 50-over Cricket World Cup remaining whereas Menon shall be standing in his first ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup match. Shahid will turn into the primary from Bangladesh to umpire within the competitors. They’re all among the many crew of 20 introduced by the ICC to supervise the World Cup contests, the listing consisting of 16 umpires and 4 match referees, together with 12 umpires from the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires.

Six of these 16 umpires are stepping up for his or her first ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup, whereas on the different finish of the dimensions, three return, having umpired in earlier finals. There are additionally 14 returning umpires from the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022, with solely Shahid and Alex Wharf those that didn’t officiate in Australia. Together with Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus and Richard Kettleborough additionally return, having taken cost of the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup finals up to now, in 2019 and 2015, respectively. Erasmus and Dharmasena have been the boys within the center for each the 2019 remaining at Lord’s and the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022 remaining. Rod Tucker, the third umpire within the remaining 4 years in the past, can be chosen, which implies three of the 4 officers for the 2019 showpiece return.

Others getting back from earlier tournaments embody Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth and Joel Wilson.Menon, who hails from host nation India, is the youngest umpire on the event at 39, and is joined by Shahid, Ahsan Raza, Adrian Holdstock, Wharf and Chris Brown in making their ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup debut. The four-match referees are all former worldwide gamers – Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath. Match Officers for ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup 2023:Umpires: Chris Brown (New Zealand), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka), Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Christopher Gaffaney (New Zealand), Michael Gough (England), Adrian Holdstock (South Africa), Richard Illingworth (England), Richard Kettleborough (England), Nitin Menon (India), Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), Paul Reiffel (Australia), Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid (Bangladesh), Rodney Tucker (Australia), Alex Wharf (England), Joel Wilson (West Indies) and Paul Wilson (Australia).Match Referees: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe), Richie Richardson (West Indies) and Javagal Srinath (India).

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article